Over the Bones

In 2007, Megan Birdsall was diagnosed with a rare degenerative jaw disorder that was fusing her jaw onto her skull and closing off her windpipe. Without the KC jazz community to help rally support and money for the surgery to replace her jaw bone and joints, she would have lost not only her voice, but her life.

While in recovery, Megan once again picked up a guitar and began writing. As a writer, and solo artist, MBird, along with co-producer Jack Sundrud (of Poco and Great Plains) began crafting “Over the Bones,” a simple, and risky, beautifully dark collection of songs that manages to uplift and challenge the listener. “Over the Bones” features some of M Bird’s favorite players, who have worked with such diverse musicians as Robert Plant, the Dixie Chicks, ?uestlove, and Alison Krauss. The KC jump jazz rhythm section and the Nashville mandolin, fiddle and slide players truly make this record a bridge over the middle of our country, and a bridge “Over the Bones.”


  1. Train Song
  2. Over the Bones
  3. Over My Head
  4. Blues and the Highway
  5. One Kiss
  6. I See Your Mind
  7. Lonesome
  8. Enough for Me
  9. Porch Swing
  10. This Bridge (Boat Song)

“Over the Bones” is now available:

iTunes Store | Amazon | CD Baby

  • Track Sampler

  • Upcoming shows

    No shows booked at the moment.

  • Contact Information